Solutions for your business
RAA SafeZone Lone Worker App
Working alone shouldn't mean feeling alone.
The RAA SafeZone Lone Worker app is a smart phone application monitored 24/7, 365 days a year. The app is designed to keep your workers safe and secure when working in high risk and vulnerable environments and is ideal for those on the move. It provides your mobile workforce with increased autonomy and mobility.
With the RAA SafeZone Lone Worker app, help is always at hand.
The app connects directly to RAA’s 24/7 monitoring centre. When a worker raises an alert, the monitoring centre is immediately notified of their location and can quickly determine the response required. Whether it’s a medical emergency or a team member in danger, help is just the touch of a button away.
Monitored by RAA’s 24/7 monitoring centre Rapid response in an emergency Australia-wide security for your workforce
Contact us now 08 8202 4825
This is an important feature if a worker is about to head into a potentially vulnerable situation.
A worker can set the countdown clock on the Check-in Timer.
If the timer isn’t cancelled before it expires, the app will send an alert to the monitoring centre.
Shows the worker’s location and alerts the monitoring centre that their personal safety is at risk.
First Aid alert
Shows the worker’s location and notifies the monitoring centre that medical help is needed.
Shows the worker’s location and notifies the monitoring centre that some form of help is needed, e.g. the worker may wish to report suspicious activity.
How it works
1. The Check-in Timer expires or an alert button on the home screen is pressed
When the worker's Check-in Timer expires or they touch an alert button on the home screen, the app will determine their location.
2. An alert and the worker’s location is sent to RAA Secure Services Monitoring Centre
The app will then indicate that the RAA’s monitoring centre has been alerted.
3. The monitoring centre contacts the worker
A monitoring centre consultant will call the worker for a full understanding of the situation.
4. Help is on the way
Depending on the situation and your response plan, the nominated contact person and/or emergency services will be contacted.
The RAA SafeZone App is free to download. Monitoring costs around $1 a day for single users, and discounts apply for multiple users.
Frequently Asked Questions
Expand All Collapse All
Will workers be tracked all the time?
No, the RAA SafeZone App will only share a location with the RAA Secure Services Monitoring Centre when one of the three alert buttons (Emergency, First Aid, Help) is pressed, or the Check-In Timer function is used.
An alert or Check-In Timer can be cancelled at any time.
How does the Check-In Timer work?
A worker can set the countdown clock on the Check-in Timer. This is an important feature if they’re about to head into a potentially vulnerable situation.
They will receive a warning when the timer reaches 5 minutes from expiry, at which time they can reset or cancel the timer, or Check Out.
If the timer expires, an alert will be sent to the monitoring centre staff, who’ll see the worker’s location and take action in accordance with the response plan you’ve prepared with RAA Secure Services.
Will the app drain the phone’s battery?
RAA SafeZone’s use of location services has been optimised to minimise battery use. The app will not impact the standby battery life on a smartphone. Increased battery usage may be noticed with continued use of the ‘Check-In Timer’, and when the app is run in the foreground on the phone.
Where does SafeZone work?
The RAA SafeZone app will work on mainland Australia and in Tasmania.
However, internet and voice connections are required to run RAA SafeZone effectively. Internet connections through WiFi and cellular data are both supported. If, for some reason, a connection is not available when the alarm is raised, the app will attempt to send the alert to the RAA Secure Services monitoring centre via SMS.
If the worker is out of cellular or WiFi range, no signal will be received by the monitoring centre.
When should the Emergency button be used?
A worker should press the Emergency button if they feel their personal safety is at risk.
The First Aid button, however, indicates that medical assistance is needed.
The worker will receive a phone call from the monitoring centre to determine the exact nature of the situation.
Note: If the worker is outside of WiFi or cellular data range but is able to send an SMS, the phone will be prompted to send an SMS alert to the RAA Secure Services Monitoring Centre.
When should the Help button be used?
The Help button is used to notify the monitoring centre that some form of help is needed, e.g. the worker may wish to report suspicious activity. The monitoring centre will act in accordance with the response plan you’ve prepared with RAA Secure Services.
What if a button is accidentally pressed?
When any of the three RAA SafeZone alert buttons are tapped, a timer circle is shown winding down.
If an alert button is accidentally pressed, it can be cancelled by tapping the button again while the timer is winding down.
Even after an alert has been sent it can still be cancelled, but the monitoring centre will contact the worker to make sure everything’s ok.
Who will answer a Help call or Alert?
Once an alert is sent or the Check-In Timer has expired, one of our RAA Secure Services monitoring centre staff will call the worker.
Our monitoring centre, based in Adelaide, is an Australian Security Industry Association Ltd (ASIAL) A1 Grade monitoring centre, which means we have one of the fastest response rates in Australia.
What happens if an alert is not received by the monitoring centre?
When any of the three alert buttons are pressed (Emergency, First Aid, Help), the phone will display the information shown in this image. The three icons (from left to right) mean:
- Obtaining location (ticked when successful)
- Sending your request (ticked when successful)
- Awaiting acknowledgement from RAA Secure Services – once the RAA Secure Services Monitoring Centre has seen the request and sent their acknowledgement, the text changes from ‘Alert Sent’ to ‘Alert Acknowledged’. The icon will then be ticked. This means the monitoring centre is about call the worker and respond to their request.
At any time in this process the monitoring centre can be called directly by tapping the ‘Call security’ green button, or the alert can be cancelled by tapping the ‘Cancel alert’ red button. If an alert is cancelled, the monitoring centre will still call the worker to check that they’re ok.
If, for any reason, the alert is not acknowledged, the green button can be pressed to make a voice call to the RAA Secure Services Monitoring Centre or, if the worker is out of cellular data range, they’ll be prompted to send an SMS to the monitoring centre.
What happens if a worker can’t answer the call from the monitoring centre?
Depending on the situation and the response plan you’ve prepared with RAA Secure Services, nominated contacts and/or emergency services will be contacted.
RAA SafeZone Lone Worker App Terms and Conditions
For more information on the RAA SafeZone Lone Worker App